Korea Tourism Organization Malaysia > (Old Website) FAQ  > What is O-Train? V-Train? S-Train?

What is O-Train? V-Train? S-Train?

i) O-Train: Derives its name from the word “One” as the three provinces (Gangwon-do, Chungcheongbuk-do, Gyeongsangbuk-do) in the country’s central inland region are connected by this circular route. The O-train passes through the cities of Jechoen, Taekbaek, Yeongju, and Jecheon stations four times a day. Passengers can get on and off the train at all the stopping stations, and the train stops for 10 minutes at Chujeon Station, the highest station in Korea, to allow passengers to look down on the magnificent scenery.

ii) V-Train: Stands for “valley” and travels through the remote mountainous areas of Gangwon-do Province and Gyeongsangbuk-do Province. It is also referred to as the “Baby Baekho (white tiger) Train” due to the motif of the train’s exterior of a white tiger running through the Baekdudaegan mountain range. Unlike the O-train, the V-train is non-stop and makes only 5-10 minute stops at Yangwon Station, the smallest train station in Korea, and Seungbu Station, which has particularly beautiful scenery, so that passengers can take time to take pictures.

iii) S-Train: A tourist train that takes passengers from Seoul to the southern port city of Yeosu in the province. It also operates between Busan and Boseong, South Jeollanamdo Province, along the southern coast of the peninsula.

No Comments

Leave a reply